About Heritage

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

World heritage in South Africa

South Africa is home to eight of the world's official heritage sites, as determined by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation's (UNESCO) World Heritage Committee.

The committee seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of "outstanding value to humanity".

Internationally, there are 851 World Heritage sites in 141 countries (as of April 2008). South Africa has a total of eight - four cultural, three natural and one mixed (cultural and natural) site. Starting with the first site added to the list, ending with the latest, these are:

  • iSimangaliso Wetland Park
  • Robben Island
  • Fossil Hominid sites of South Africa
  • Maloti Drakensberg Park
  • Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape
  • Cape Floral Region
  • Vredefort Dome
  • Richtersveld Cultural Landscape