Call for applications from Universities for a Bursary in Language Studies for 2018/19-2020/21

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
The Use of Official Languages Act, 2012 (Act No. 12 of 2012), among other things, aims at promoting the equitable use of the 11 official languages, facilitating access to Government services, knowledge and information and ensuring redress for the previously marginalised official indigenous languages. This Act implies increased demand on language services and properly qualified language practitioners are needed to meet this demand.
The Department of Arts and Culture, therefore, is offering bursaries for students to pursue undergraduate and postgraduate studies in any three (3) of the following areas of study:
• Terminology Development and Management
• Human Language Technology
• Interpreting
• Any of the South African Official Languages with emphasis on nine indigenous languages
• South African Sign Language
• Lexicography
• Language Planning
• Translation and Editing
Interested institutions are requested to submit their proposals, outlining the courses they offer, by no later than 30 June 2017 to Ms Zanele Mtsweni, the Acting Director: Language Planning and Development, Department of Arts and Culture, National Language Service, Private Bag X897, Pretoria 0001.
NB: Institutions should please note that their programmes will be verified for South African Qualifications Authority compliance requirements.
For further information, please contact Dr Zola Peter, tel. (012) 441-3814, cell: 072 530 3418 or e-mail: