Call for nominations of candidates to serve on the board of The South African Library for The Blind

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The South African Library for the Blind is a Schedule 3A public entity and established in terms of The South African Library for the Blind Act 91 of 1998 to provide national library and information service to serve the blind and print-handicapped readers in South Africa.

The Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture, Mr Nathi Mthethwa hereby invites nominations for suitable candidates to serve as Board Members of the South African Library for the Blind in accordance to Section 6(1) of the South African Library for the Blind Act 91 of 1998.


Nominated persons should have leadership qualities and be committed to the primary object and mandate of the South African Library for the Blind. Possess knowledge and expertise in: strategic, business, public finance, human resources and reputation management; research and braille management, information and communication technology in the matters affecting blind and print-handicapped readers; fund-raising and marketing; legal expertise, corporate governance as well as willingness to render community service.

Terms and Conditions:

The term of office for Board members is three (3) years effective from 01 October 2019 to 30 September 2022. The appointed nominees will serve on a part-time basis. Remuneration of appointed nominees will be in line with the rates prescribed by the National Treasury.

Nomination Particulars:

Nominations of persons to serve on the SALB Board must be submitted to the Department of Sports, Arts and Culture on the official nomination form (available on request) and must contain the following annexures:

  • A signed motivation for the appointment by the nominator (containing full names, address and contact details), explaining the nominee’s suitability for appointment in terms of the criteria stated above;
  • A brief and recently updated curriculum vitae of the nominee, including three (3) contactable references and
  • Certified copies of the nominee’s qualifications and identity document.

No nomination will be considered unless all of the above are included. Correspondence will only be entered into with shortlisted candidates.


Nominations must be sent to:

Postal Address: The Director-General

                             Attention: Mr Sibusiso Tsanyane

                             Department of Sports, Arts and Culture

                             Private Bag X897



Hand Delivered: 202 Madiba Street

Sechaba House

Corner Madiba & Paul Kruger Street

Pretoria Central

Email Address:

Enquiries may be directed to Mr Sibusiso Tsanyane, Telephone: 012 441 3492

The closing date for nominations is Monday, 02 August 2019