Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
South Africa is a multilingual country. The country’s Constitution guarantees equal status to 11 official languages to cater for the country’s diverse people and their cultures.
These are:
  • English
  • isiNdebele
  • isiXhosa
  • isiZulu
  • Afrikaans
  • Sepedi
  • Sesotho
  • Setswana
  • Siswati
  • Tshivenda and
  • Xitsonga
Other languages used in South Africa include the Khoi, Nama and San languages, Sign Language, Arabic, German, French, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Portuguese, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telegu and Urdu.
South Africa has various structures and institutions that support the preservation and development of languages.