Minister Mashatile signs performance agreement with 27 associated Arts and Culture Heritage institutions

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
04 Apr 2014

This morning Minister Paul Mashatile, Minister of Arts and Culture met with Chairpersons of Councils and Boards and CEOs of the 27 Associated Institutions at the Ditsong Museum in Pretoria to officially sign the Shareholder’s Compact with them for this financial year. This written agreement was instituted three years ago and was found to be very successful.

The meetings and the thick written compacts between the institutions and the department provide policy direction and enable strategic planning for the work to be implemented. In the past five years, government has worked on Outcomes-based mandates and the President had signed Performance Agreements with each of the Ministers to ensure that the work promised to the nation is carried out. It is therefore important that the implementing agencies carry out this mandate.

These compacts have helped to stabilize governance in many of the institutions. They have helped to align the priorities of the institutions with those of the Department and government in general. “It has also strengthened the monitoring and evaluation of our institutions and their accountability to the Department and Parliament”, said Minister Mashatile.

“Through the establishment of the CEOs Forums, we have begun to improve communication, coordination and joint planning between the Department and our institutions” Minister continued. He said, “This was evident when the Department, working together with the National Arts Council, delivered a highly successful 2012/13 South Africa, France Cultural Seasons. Equally, the Department continues to work well with Business Arts South Africa in mobilising private sector buy-in and support for our programmes”.

A copy of the signed Compact is kept by the Institution and another by the Department. The institutions that signed with the Minister are: Artscape; Ditsong Museums of South Africa; Freedom Park; Iziko Museums of South Africa; KwaZulu-Natal Museum; Luthuli Museum; Market Theatre Company; Msunduzi Museum; National Arts Council; National English Literary Museum; National Film and Video Foundation; National Heritage Council; National Library of South Africa; National Museum; Nelson Mandela Museum; PACOFS; PANSALB; Robben Island Museum; South African Heritage Resource Agency; South African Library for the Blind; South African State Theatre; War Museum and William Humphreys Art Gallery. The only institution that was not represented was Afrikaanse Taal Museum, arrangements would be made for the signing of their compact soon.

For enquiries please contact Mr Mogomotsi Mogodiri: 071 687 4984