Nomination of candidates to serve as Council Members of the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA)

Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version

The Minister of Arts and Culture, Mr. Nathi Mthethwa invites members of the public to submit nominations of candidates to serve on the Council of the South African Heritage Resources Agency for a period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2022.

Nominated candidates should possess broad knowledge and skills on the Council, inter alia in the fields of Archaeology, Architecture, Amasiko, Financial Management, Law Palaentology, Shipwrecks, Social History, Victims of Conflict and Urban Planning. Candidates must be willing to render community service.

Anyone wishing to nominate a person for a possible appointment to the Council of the South African Heritage Resources Agency should submit the following:

  1. A letter containing full names, address and telephone numbers of the nominee, giving reasons for nomination;
  2. Recently updated curriculum vitae and certified copies of qualifications of the nominee, including three contactable references; and
  3. A brief statement signed by the nominee explaining his/her suitability for appointment.


No nomination will be considered unless all of the above is included. Correspondence will only be entered into with shortlisted candidates. Should you not be contacted within three months from the closing date, please consider your nomination as unsuccessful.

Nominations are to reach the Director-General of the Department of Arts and Culture by 15 April 2019 using the following address: Private Bag X897 Pretoria 0001 for attention: Mr. Sibusiso Tsanyane or sent via e-mail to:

For telephonic enquiries contact Mr. Sibusiso Tsanyane on 012 4413492